Former Sewerage Pumping Station
Introduction
The photograph on this page of Former Sewerage Pumping Station by P Flannagan as part of the Geograph project.
The Geograph project started in 2005 with the aim of publishing, organising and preserving representative images for every square kilometre of Great Britain, Ireland and the Isle of Man.
There are currently over 7.5m images from over 14,400 individuals and you can help contribute to the project by visiting https://www.geograph.org.uk

Image: © P Flannagan Taken: 24 Jan 2008
This pumping station, situated near the Bann River bridge in Portadown, has been retained for public interest. It was erected by the Portadown Urban District Council in 1929-30. The Civil Engineers for the project were Taylor and Wallin of Newcastle-upon-Tyne. A plaque on the wall records this information together with all the names of the Council and their Town Clerk. See Image UPDATE Renovation of this building to transform it into a café/restaurant with seating for up to 30 people started in May 2016 and is due to be finished in early Autumn 2016. The Armagh Banbridge Craigavon Council will then go out to tender to seek a tenant to run the facility. The old town quay nearby has been developed recently making the area an ideal place for visitors to enjoy the riverside. Further update. Northern Ireland’s largest independently-owned artisan coffee chain Ground Espresso Bars has announced a multi-million-pound expansion plan, which includes the opening of a new outlet in Portadown. The new stand-alone site at the old Pump House in Portadown near the River Bann was opened on Friday 10th November 2017.
Image Location






