Site of Newdigate Colliery, Market End, Bedworth
Introduction
The photograph on this page of Site of Newdigate Colliery, Market End, Bedworth by A J Paxton as part of the Geograph project.
The Geograph project started in 2005 with the aim of publishing, organising and preserving representative images for every square kilometre of Great Britain, Ireland and the Isle of Man.
There are currently over 7.5m images from over 14,400 individuals and you can help contribute to the project by visiting https://www.geograph.org.uk

Image: © A J Paxton Taken: 25 Jul 2021
Newdigate Colliery stood on this site and mined coal from 1901 to 1982. It took its name from the owners of the Arbury estate, which owns the land. The above-ground buildings of the colliery stood in the field on the right hand side of this picture, as can be seen in Ordnance Survey maps of the period. https://maps.nls.uk/geo/explore/side-by-side/#zoom=16&lat=52.48152&lon=-1.51019&layers=6&right=ESRIWorld There is no trace of these buildings above ground today. The site is now a field with a linear wood running along the northern edge, which marks the northern side of the route of the mineral line which carried coal to the rail network and to the Coventry Canal. The woman and her dog visible in this photo are walking along a path that follows the line of the railway towards Bedworth. Parts of the site have been redeveloped with housing and the estate has proposed more in this area.