Former Unitarian Chapel
Introduction
The photograph on this page of Former Unitarian Chapel by Richard Croft as part of the Geograph project.
The Geograph project started in 2005 with the aim of publishing, organising and preserving representative images for every square kilometre of Great Britain, Ireland and the Isle of Man.
There are currently over 7.5m images from over 14,400 individuals and you can help contribute to the project by visiting https://www.geograph.org.uk

Image: © Richard Croft Taken: 27 Jun 2015
Fascinating little grade II listed building on New Street, originally a coach house and stable to 6 Laura Place built c1810. In 1853 it became the Quaker Meeting House and later a bookshop before acquisition by the Unitarians in October 1906 when John Hartland of Cardiff added the façade. In March 1976 the chapel closed and it became a museum until 1998, followed by disuse before restoration in 2011 to its current use as a house. It has two claims to fame as the smallest Nonconformist chapel in Wales and former place of worship for David Ivon Jones http://www.sahistory.org.za/people/david-ivon-jones who was a key figure in the South African civil rights movement and the African National Congress, recognised on the plaque below the centre window.